top of page

7 apps for disabled/chronically ill people.


“Technology makes things easier for people without disabilities, but for people with disabilities it makes things possible” - IBM

I love and agree with this quote so much its insane. Technology opens so many routes for people with disabilities whether or not it’s intended. I always see posts on “Apps for people with chronic illness” being solely management/illness based but there are also apps that can help you compensate for lost abilities and in other aspects of life and I think those ones are just as important because we are still people. So I decided to make my own list of awesome apps that help me as a chronically ill person or ones that’d I think would be beneficial.

1. Dating apps.

Chronic illness makes it difficult to go out and meet new people. To quote an article from the mighty “Everybody needs people! When you’re sick and isolated, online is your people!” Online dating is so popular these days it’s ridiculous. We don’t have to worry as much that “the only people who use online dating are predators” Because it’s likely your neighbours, grocery store workers, and so on use it - everyday people use it. While there are still struggles of actually meeting your date and finding a suitable partner that is understanding of illness, it’s helpful and takes down that first hitch in finding someone. & if you’re not up to finding a partner it’s always fun to flirt and skype them. On these apps I'm always upfront about my disabilities, why deal with someone who is not open minded?

2. Bumble,Patook / Friendship Apps

Just like I said above, meeting people new people can be hard! Many people with chronic pain are left by their platonic friends and because it’s so difficult to go out and socialize we end up being isolated. A lot of spoonies make online friends in support groups but we can’t meet them because they are often so far away and for most of us traveling is hell. I knew an app like this had to exist! One where you can physically meet new platonic friends in your city and they do! Bumble (BFF) is a great app to try. It’s a combination friendship, dating & networking site that has TONS of users, unlike most apps they section off the types of connections you want to make. I always found that making strictly platonic friends on dating sites that have the option to state you’re looking for friends/hang outs is incredibly difficult. The only minus to BumbleBFF is that your only matched with the same gender. Patook is also a good app but there aren’t nearly as many users on as bumble, it does allow you to meet different genders platonically though. I have met 2 people from Patook and 1 of them is a very good friend of mine whom I hang out with at home regularly. It was difficult going out enough times to see if I could trust her enough to visit me at home but it was definitely worth it! Similarly to dating apps, I find it helpful to disclose upfront. On these apps I write that I have to stay indoors more often than go out & that I am disabled upfront. Why deal with people who you can’t keep up with whatsoever or don’t want to associate themselves with you?

3. Night Owl

I really love this app it’s a MUST for chronic migraineurs with light sensitivity. I find it helpful most of the time! Sometimes it does get to the point where 100% isn’t dark enough but most times it’s sufficient so I don’t have to be totally isolated/bored in bed.

4. Skype / Video Chat

I LOVE Skype, I’m sure I’ve written that before. It’s the next best thing to a physical hang out and it requires less energy than one, it’s so versatile and with a little tweaking allows you to share movies, music and WebPages. It’s a fun little way to catch up with people in between actually seeing them; it’s like that brief coffee or brunch date. & if things get too hard you can cancel or leave the call early without feeling as guilty. Skype is a great way to ward off isolation and it’s a great way to connect with people you already know physically and people you met online whether that is through friendship apps, dating apps, or support groups. I love using it as a supplement to my social life; I generally just have people come over.

5. Ever note

Ever note is great for brain fog and short term memory problems. I had a point where I lost 5 months of memory and ever since then it’s been difficult to recall things that happened recently. Ever note has been my second brain.

6. ICE / Emergency SMS

I think anyone especially those with severe health problems should have an In Case of Emergency Paramedic app. Just keep things filled out and updated and accessible to the paramedics. Emergency SMS apps are great if you get to the point where you can’t type out a whole message. Apps like these generally allow you to make pretyped messages & you can write something that says “This is an automatic message I cannot respond”

7. Migraine Buddy / Flare Up

Tracking your symptoms and pain can be beneficial for you or your doctor. Having an accurate record of when things get worse or better can help you find a better path to pain/illness management. I’ve also heard apps like these are helpful during applying for SSI/SSDI.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page